Hasta la vista, Vista.

I just recieved an email from eWeek titled The Trouble with Vista.

The linked sideshow addresses ten major problems with Windows Vista, and I have to say I’ve been reading a lot about this lately and have had several friends and patrons who don’t like Vista. Some people who recently bought systems pre-installed with Vista asked for my help to switch back to Windows XP (which really is a fairly good and stable OS). I also got a link to a new low-priced ($379 Vostro 200) Dell and popped it up to check it out. I was mainly interested in whether the cost reduction was due to Ubuntu Linux as an OS since this is now an option on some Dells. I was surprised to find that Dell is recommending Windows XP over Vista. If you are in the market for a new computer, I would follow Dell’s recommendation and NOT get Vista preloaded. Of course, there are other¹ options.

LCG

dellwinxp1.gif

1. Other options: A Mac or a Dell preloaded with Ubuntu Linux.

One response to “Hasta la vista, Vista.

  1. Pingback: $199 Green PC « Library Computer Guy’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

