Library Computer Guy 101

My first instalment of my first blog is intended to be a bit of an introduction and explanation of the moniker “Library Computer Guy.” I didn’t know this was my name, but apparently everyone thinks this is my name… even me.
Let me explain. For the last several years I have worked at a public library in a town of about 15,000. My desk sits out in the middle of the library by the banks and banks of computers that now are a predominant feature of the “connected” library. The first thing anyone sees upon walking through the doors is me, so I get a lot of face time. Often I look up and smile – being distracted by moving objects.

On the “outside” people stare at me as if to say “”Don’t I know you from somewhere.” Some will translate the look into actual words and as I mention that I work at the library they excitedly say “Yeah, you’re the library computer guy.”

LCG

3 responses to “Library Computer Guy 101

  1. Hey LCG,
    Great site and I enjoy your way of seeing and writing. You have a wonderful sense of humor. I look forward to returning often to see what you’ll come up with next.
    Ken

  2. Hey LCG! I like the blog. I just took a look at your link to OK Food Coop. I would like to give that a try. Next time you’re in Tulsa, there’s a new restaurant on Brookside (that’s Peoria, if you’re not familiar with the area) called the Local Table. As the name suggests, they strive to serve food locally grown and produced (not entirely though- there was a salmon dish on the menu!) My husband and I had dinner there and it was delicious.

    Sheri

  3. LCG,

    I used to work in a central location similar to the one you describe (still do about 20 of the 40).

    Do you feel that the proliferation of “moving objects” interferes with the quality and quantity of your work flow?

    LA Summers

Leave a Reply

